Skip to content

Prairie South byelection less than two weeks away

The advance poll is today at the board office from 2 to 7 p.m., while byelection day is Thursday, March 9.

Prairie South School Division’s (PSSD) byelection to fill a trustee position in subdivision 6 (City of Moose Jaw) is under two weeks away, giving voters time to decide.

Eight candidates are in the running to replace former trustee Todd Johnson, who resigned and later became the manager of transportation for the division.

The eight candidates running include Brian Martynook, Shelley Jones, Tony Dreger, Karli Amundrud, Sommer Amare, Sandra Kitts, Patrick Boyle and Bruce Fritzler. 

Zachariah Bachmann has withdrawn his name from the election. However, his name will still appear on the ballot because he withdrew after the withdrawal period.

The advance poll is today at the board office at 1075 Ninth Avenue Northwest from 2 to 7 p.m. 

Meanwhile, voting day is Thursday, March 9. The main polling locations are Riverview Collegiate at 650 Coteau Street West, A.E. Peacock Collegiate at 145 Ross Street East and Sunningdale School at 530 Wood Lily Drive. 

The candidates’ biographies are on Prairie South’s website.

Voters can also find a video of a forum that the chamber of commerce hosted on Feb. 15. This event asked candidates about their thoughts about the board’s role, their views on the joint-use school and their strengths and skills. 

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks