Skip to content

Regina’s Knapp takes top spot in Sask Curling Tour Moose Jaw stop

Tournament champion makes quick work of Winnipeg’s Corey Chambers in championship final
Sask Curling Tour Moose Jaw winners
Regina’s Team Kelly Knapp took home top spot out of the Sask Curling Tour Moose Jaw stop this past weekend.
Kelly Knapp apparently didn’t want to waste any time when it came to winning the Sask Curling Tour Moose Jaw championship on Sunday night.

Knapp and his Regina foursome of third Brock Montgomery, second Mike Armstrong and lead Trent Knapp needed only three ends to get past Winnipeg’s Cory Chambers, third Julien Leduc, second Devon Wiebe and lead Stuart Shiells, taking a 7-0 win in the title game at Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre.

Knapp got things going quickly with an opening-end four-spot and after Chambers scored one the next end, put up a three-ender to bring things to a very early close.

It was naturally a solid weekend for the eventual champions, as they lost their first game to eventual ‘A’ qualifier Brent Gedak and his Estevan rink of third Jason Ackerman, second Derek Owens and lead Curtis Horwath but would win out the rest of the way.

That included a 7-5 win over Chambers in the ‘B’ semifinal and a 4-3 victory over Lumsden’s Sam Wills in the ‘B’ qualifier to reach the championship event.

There, Knapp defeated Canora’s Rob Zuravloff 5-2 in the quarter-final and scored a pair in the final end to down Saskatoon’s Jason Jacobson 8-6 to book his spot in the final.

Chambers rebounded from his ‘B’ side loss to Knapp to qualify through the ‘C’ event. He defeated Regina’s Josh Bryden 5-1 in the championship quarter-final and rolled to a 7-2 win over Gedak in the semis.