Skip to content

Several Warriors receive league awards and honours

Langan, Brook, Tracey, Almeida, and Woo honoured by the WHL

Several Moose Jaw Warriors have had excellent seasons on the ice, and these individual efforts have not gone unnoticed.

Three members of the team have picked up individual awards. This includes Josh Brook, who has been selected as the Eastern Conference's Top Defenceman. 

Brayden Tracey has been named Eastern Conference Rookie of the Year. He earned an impressive 36 goals and 45 assists for 81 points in 66 games this season.

Finally, Justin Almeida was named the Eastern Conference's Most Sportsmanlike Player. He had 33 goals and 78 assists for 111 points in 64 games, while picking up just 14 minutes in penalties.

WHL Conference Awards are voted upon by all WHL general managers and head coaches.
All individual WHL Conference Award winners will be eligible for the overall WHL Awards at the 2019 WHL Awards luncheon in Red Deer, Alta., on Wednesday, May 1.

The Western Hockey League has also announced the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star teams for the 2018-19 season. Three Warriors have been honoured.

On the Eastern Conference First All-Star team is defenceman Josh Brook and forward Tristin Langan. 

Brook scored 16 goals and 59 assists for 75 points in 59 games. Langan led the team with 53 goals and 60 assists for 113 points in 67 games. 

Defenceman Jett Woo was named to the Second All-Star team.

Woo netted 12 goals and 54 assists for 66 points in 62 games.

The WHL Conference All-Stars are voted upon by WHL General Managers.

The Tribe will head to Saskatoon this weekend for the opening round of the WHL playoffs. The first two games will be held Friday and Saturday before shifting to Mosaic Place for games three and four on March 26 and 27.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks