Skip to content

UPDATED -- Montgomery and Heidt fall to Muyres in A final at Tankard

Howard still alive on C side, Gedak eliminated

Joshua Heidt just keeps on winning at the Sasktel Tankard men's provincial curling championship.

Heidt – whose Kerrobert-based foursome includes Moose Jaw's Brock Montgomery at third – advanced to the 'A' side final with an 8-4 win over Saskatoon's Jason Jacobson.

Heidt made perfect use of the hammer through the first five ends, picking up two in the first, three in the third and two more in the fifth to build a 7-3 edge at the break. After Jacobson pulled within three with a single in the sixth, but Heidt blanked the next two ends before settling for one in the ninth and running Jacobson out of rocks in the final end.

Heidt now faces Saskatoon's Kirk Muyres in the 'A' side final during the 12 p.m. draw today. The winner advances to the Page playoff championship round beginning Saturday at 7 p.m.

Other rinks with Moose Jaw connections haven't had as much luck, as Estevan's Brent Gedak – with fellow former Moose Jaw curler Jason Ackerman at third and current Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre competitor Derek Owens at second – was eliminated after an 8-4 loss to Fox Valley's Ryan Deis in their first 'C' side game.

Regina's Steven Howard stayed alive in his first 'C' side contest, defeating Regina's Mike Armstrong 7-6 in a back-and-forth battle. Howard is taking the ice in Whitewood this week with Original 16 Superleague competitors Ben Gamble at third and Braydan Mohns at second.

Steals in back-to-back ends gave Armstrong a 5-3 lead after six, but Howard rallied with one in the seventh before stealing two in the eighth to take a 6-5 lead. Armstrong used the hammer to tie the game in the 10th and Howard picked up the win in the extra end.

Sasktel Tankard action continues through Sunday.


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks