Skip to content

Two residents named to cultural diversity, youth committees to fill vacancies

Leah Tschetter appointed to the cultural diversity advisory committee, Zsombor Deak to the youth advisory committee
City hall tower sunset
Moose Jaw City Hall. (Matthew Gourlie photograph)

City council has appointed Leah Tschetter to the cultural diversity advisory committee and Zsombor Deak to the youth advisory committee to help fill vacancies in those groups.

Council approved the appointments during its Sept. 13 regular meeting. Tschetter represents Prairie South School Division and will commence her term immediately until Dec. 31 or when a successor is appointed. Deak represents Riverview Collegiate and will commence the term immediately and conclude on June 30, 2022, or until a successor is appointed.

Amanda Olson, superintendent of learning with Prairie South, recommended Tschetter for appointment to the cultural diversity advisory committee to replace a former school division representative, a council report explained. Meanwhile, the city clerk’s office called for nominations in three editions of the Moose Jaw Express and on the city website and social media channels to fill vacancies on the youth advisory committee.

Board of revision 

During the Aug. 23 executive committee meeting, council approved a recommendation to appoint Teri Bourdages, Cliff Wheatley, Dave Wentworth, Ronald Kleim and Scott McMann to the Moose Jaw Board of Revision for a term of office to commence immediately and conclude Dec. 31, 2022.

During the Sept. 13 regular meeting, council officially approved the appointments. 

The next regular council meeting is Monday, Sept. 27.