Skip to content

Provincial gov’t providing funds for paratransit services

Moose Jaw to receive capital grant toward the purchase of new paratransit buses in 2021-22
paratransit bus stock photo
A parantransit bus

The Transit Assistance for People with Disabilities (TAPD) program will receive a boost from the provincial government — and the city of Moose Jaw will benefit.

Government Relations Minister Don McMorris announced over $3.7 million in funding for the TAPD yesterday. 

"This investment reinforces our commitment to building a more inclusive and accessible Saskatchewan," McMorris said. "Our government is proud of this investment to support municipalities in providing services to people with disabilities and reducing barriers to employment."

A total of 69 municipalities — including 14 cities and 55 towns — across the province will receive funds through TAPD in the 2021-22 fiscal year. Through the program, funds are provided for operating assistance grants, such as transportation costs and vehicle maintenance, and capital assistance grants used for the purchase of replacement vehicles. 

Funding for capital assistance grants is provided for 75 per cent of the cost of a vehicle to a maximum of $55,000 per vehicle. The municipality is responsible for covering 25 per cent of the cost. 

Municipalities receiving a capital grant toward the purchase of new paratransit buses in 2021-22 are the: Town of Carlyle, City of Moose Jaw, City of North Battleford, City of Prince Albert, Town of Rocanville, City of Saskatoon, City of Regina and City of Yorkton. 

Funding for operational assistance grants is calculated using the population category of each municipality as well as the number of paratransit trips provided by the municipality in the previous calendar year. 

Municipalities receiving a grant for operating assistance include the City of Estevan, Town of La Ronge, City of Melville, Town of Nipawin and Town of Shaunavon. 

More information about the program is available online.