Skip to content

Premier Moe thanks Michelson, retiring MLAs

Seven Sask Party, four NDP MLAs stepping down as spring session closes
Michelson, Warren 4
Warren Michelson, MLA for Moose Jaw-North, poses in his office on High Street West. Photo by Jason G. Antonio
Saskatchewan Premier Scott Moe paid tribute to 11 retiring MLAs during the final meeting of the spring session on Friday.

Among that list is Moose Jaw North MLA Warren Michelson, who announced back in January of 2019 that he intended to step down from the position he held for the last 13 years.

“Politics is a partisan calling, but on both sides of the assembly there are people of good will who are motivated by essentially the same thing,” Moe said in his address. “We all love this province. We all want to build a strong, resilient, inclusive Saskatchewan. On behalf of the entire province, I want to thank my departing colleagues for their sacrifice and commitment as we worked together to build a better Saskatchewan.”

Michelson first ran for the Moose Jaw North seat in the 2007 election and followed with wins in 2011 and 2016. He was a constant presence in the community, and that engagement was something he said he would miss when he made his announcement in 2019.

“I have so many great memories of being in the community and the people I've met, it's hard to leave that kind of thing behind but I'm sure whoever comes after me will do a great job representing the party and the constituents,” Michelson said at the time.

Seven MLAs from the Sask Party and four from the NDP are stepping down.

Leaving the government side alongside Michelson are Dan D’Autremont (representing Cannington), Nancy Heppner (Martensville-Warman), Greg Brkich (Arm River), Glen Hart (Last Mountain-Touchwood), Herb Cox (The Battlefords) and Larry Doke (Cutknife-Turtleford).

From the opposition NDP, Warren McCall (Regina Elphinstone-Centre), David Forbes (Saskatoon Centre), Danielle Chartier (Saskatoon Riversdale) and Cathy Sproule (Saskatoon Nutuna) are retiring.

Local lawyer Tim McLeod is running for Michelson’s former seat in Moose Jaw North.

All of the retiring MLAs have served at least two terms in the legislature. D’autremont, the former Speaker, is the longest-serving MLA in the assembly. He was first elected in 1991.

“These folks are exemplary citizens who have never forgotten why they were elected,” Moe said. “It was a great honour to serve with them. I know MLAs on both sides of the house join me in wishing our colleagues the very best as they begin the next chapter in their life.”