Skip to content

Prairie South School Division confirms school board election results

Prairie South School Division has confirmed the results of the recent election for school board trustees
prairie south office3
The Prairie South School Division office is located on 9th Avenue NW. (file photo)

The municipal election results shared after polls closed on Nov. 9 showed a close race in one subdivision of the Prairie South School Division’s race for school board trustees, but the division has now confirmed the 10 trustees who will represent each region in the division.

Darcy Pryor will be returning as the representative for Subdivision 1, and incumbent Robert Bachman was acclaimed for Subdivision 2. John Bumbac has been elected for his first term as the trustee for Subdivision 3, with incumbent Giselle Wilson was acclaimed for Subdivision 4. Shawn Davidson was re-elected for Subdivision 5. 

After a recount and confirmation of ballots, the candidates who will be representing Subdivision 6 are Lew Young, Mary Jukes,  Brett Hagan, Crystal Froese and Todd Johnson. 

Young and Jukes are both returning trustees, while Hagan, Froese and Johnson are new to the position. 

The school board representative will be sworn in at the next school board meeting on Nov. 17, at which time they will decide on a chair and vice-chair.

Holy Trinity Catholic School Division acclaimed all five school board trustees prior to Election Day, welcoming Joann Blazieko, Christine Boyczuk, Alison Bradish, Derek Hassan for Moose Jaw and Stephanie Neilson for Shaunavon. 

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks