Skip to content

City manager to help elect five directors to water treatment plant board

Daryl Posehn, Ben Boots, Patricia Warsaba, Patricia Wilson and Jessica Theriault have been nominated to serve a three-year term ending in 2026.
Buffalo Pound WTP 4
The main entrance to the Buffalo Pound Water Treatment Plant. Photo by Jason G. Antonio

City manager Jim Puffalt will use Moose Jaw’s voting rights to elect five members to the Buffalo Pound Water Treatment Corporation’s board of directors during its upcoming membership meeting.

City council voted unanimously during its March 27 regular meeting to authorize the city manager to exercise the municipality’s voting rights to nominate the individuals for a three-year term ending in 2026. Those individuals include Daryl Posehn, Ben Boots, Patricia Warsaba, Patricia Wilson and Jessica Theriault. 

The cities of Regina and Moose Jaw are the voting membership holders of the corporation and, under a joint agreement, must exercise their voting rights at a membership meeting to appoint board members whom the governance and nominating committee have recommended, a council report explained.

The board revised its appointment process in 2021 by having a third party advise the cities and committee on the suitability of current board members and potentially recommend certain individuals for reappointment, the report continued. The organization made further changes to the recruitment process to streamline reappointments by including an internal evaluation component.

 The corporation’s board wanted to increase its membership by one or two members this year to enhance diversity and assist with succession planning as long-term members’ appointments began to expire, said the report. 

The board has recommended two new members — Wilson and Theriault — which increases the group’s size to nine members from seven. Meanwhile, it supports the reappointment of Posehn, Boots and Warsaba.

With these appointments, the terms of Wilson, Theriault, Boots, Posehn and Warsaba expire in 2026, the terms of Judy May and Dale Schoffer expire in 2025 and the terms for Dave Richards and Grant Ring expire in 2024.

The next regular council meeting is Monday, April 10.  


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks