Skip to content

Chamber of Commerce selects nominees for Citizen/Group of the Year awards

The Chamber of Commerce have released this year's nominees for the Citizen of the Year and Group of the Year Awards
chamber of commerce
(file photo)

The Chamber of Commerce has finalized the nominee list for the upcoming Citizen of the Year and Group of the Year Awards presentation on Jan. 28, after receiving nomination submissions from the public. 

This year, 18 nominees will be featured for their extensive volunteer work within the community. Each nominee has made significant contributions to improve the community, both social and economic, and one award will be given to an individual citizen and one award to a group.

This year, the nominees for Citizen of the Year include: 

  • Bruce Willms, for his work on the Rob Nash project and advocacy for mental health support for youth
  • Deann Little, for her extensive volunteer work with the Moose Jaw & District Food Bank
  • Gabriella Hill, for her extra efforts in patient care and staff advocacy at the South Hill Medical Clinic
  • Harvey & Star Parker, for their volunteer work with Meals on Wheels and other seniors services
  • Krystal Chow, for her volunteer work with groups including the Scotties Tournament of Hearts, Jumpstart, the Moose Jaw Booster Club, kids football camps, and more
  • Patrick Boyle, for his work as the past-president of the Moose Jaw Minor Hockey Association
  • Rudi Fast, for his ongoing volunteer work to clean up litter around the entire city.

The nominees for Group of the Year include Born 2 Dance, the Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital Auxilliary, Friends of the Library, Moose Jaw Families for Change, Moose Jaw Festival of Dance, Moose Jaw & District Food Bank, Moose Jaw International Medical Mission, Moose Jaw Music Festival Committee, SCRAPS, the staff at the Maguire Centre, and Running Wild Rescue.

Although not every nominee can take home the award, the presentation event is meant to highlight their work for public awareness and celebrate the hard work of local volunteers. 

Chamber CEO Rob Clark is always proud to present a new list of nominees for the service awards each year, as it showcases the good things happening within the community. 

“We have 18 new hometown heroes in Moose Jaw who are going to be recognized, and they deserve it. They should all win, but they'll all be congratulated and thanked immensely at our event,” said Clark.

The Moose Jaw Heritage Advisory Committee Awards will also be handed out at the presentation. 

The Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year and Group of the Year Awards will be presented on Jan. 28 at the Heritage Inn. Tickets are available to the public for $30 and can be purchased from the Chamber office until Jan. 24.